The drive to have “more,” and the accompanying stress and busyness have gotten the better of me, which is why I haven’t written here in a while.  I took on an extra project late last summer because I thought the extra money would be nice, and while I hadn’t even planned on using the money for myself, I learned that the acquisition of extra money would be costly.  It would come at the expense of time to slow down, time to rest, time to spend hanging out with my family, time to be at peace, time to enjoy simpler things.  It cost me time spent enjoying Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s this past holiday season, and I hope that I’ve learned my lesson.

Things are finally slowing down again, and so I hope to be making up for lost time here on this blog over the next few weeks.  The past several days have seen a return to more relaxed evenings and this evening was a good one.  We had snow again here in Houston, the third time this Winter, and while snow is always fun for me, it’s even more fun now that I have a young daughter, and I can enjoy it even more, vicariously, through her.  We went outside several times when it was falling particularly thickly, trying to catch snowflakes on our tongues.

Coming back into the house meant returning to the scent of the cookies that my wife and daughter were baking, a recipe for Chocolate Chip Cookies from Cook’s Illustrated‘s early days, way back in 1996.  We’ve been making this particular recipe almost since then and nothing else has come close.  They bake up with a warm, toffee-like flavor, slightly crisp on the outside and chewy in the middle.  CI came out with a new recipe for chocolate chip cookies last year, and we haven’t tried it yet, but their old recipe will be hard to beat.

